Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This is dedicated to all my family and friends, gay, straight, or otherwise. I love them all dearly, and hold genuine love in my heart for them, support them wholly.

I’ve been reading the book Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church, which is about Lauren Drain, a woman who, at 15, was thrust into the Wesboro Baptist “Church” (or WBC, church being in quotes because in this case, “church” = “cult”) and then banished from it for basically questioning elements of the “church’s” doctrine that she found hypocritical. Her curious nature was stamped on, and she was shamed for doubting and questioning “the Word of the Lord.” It’s a fascinating book and one I’m reading for a piece of fiction I’m currently writing. It’s sad and shocking. My jaw has literally dropped at some of the things her father, Steve, did to her as he began to be indoctrinated into the “church.” (See Lauren’s “NOH8” campaign photos.)

And because I question everything, whether internally or in a verbally outspoken manner, I continue to question how people who are supposed to be the “elected” and “chosen” ones to be received in Heaven, ones who are supposed to be “Christ-like” could actually, and ironically, be so opposite of who Christ is supposed to be to Christians. Fundamentalists take quotes from the Bible out of context all the time, so I’m going to follow that tradition for this blog post.

Colossians 3:14 And beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity.

What is the “perfect bond of unity?” Who is the “judge” here in the Christian world? If I’m not mistaken, in the Christian religion, it is God, and only God. I look at the world differently, not negatively, but differently ever since a friend of mine’s son was brainwashed into joining what I consider to be a religious cult, a different one from the WBC. And one of their main messages is antigay. Again, who is any human to judge a “perfect bond of unity” when at the core of it is love?

I never thought I’d ever root for a couple to get together, or even get back together, as much as I have “Tom” (the FABULOUS Christian Borle) and “Sam” (Leslie Odom, Jr, also fabulous) in the TV show “Smash.” And *gasp*, the couple is…wait for it…GAY. YES, THAT’S RIGHT. “Sam” is a man, too.

The show is far more sophisticated than shows like “Glee” and has a different target audience, but the songs, the drama, the characters, and the actors are truly brilliant. And it’s on NBC, the network who refused to show two men or two women kissing just seven years ago or so.

I’ve come to absolutely adore these two characters. When they performed in a recent episode, (see video below), I wanted so badly for them to get back together. They seem perfect for each other. I got caught up in the thrill of the obvious affection they have for one another, the way they looked at each other during the performance.

I don’t think I fully realized how much I truly understood my feelings on the subject, even though I’m for gay marriage and rights, until “Smash” and the relationship between “Tom” and Sam”. I look at them as any other straight couple in film or TV, as I would my own friends and family: two people in love (or in their case, were in love, and I’m crossing my fingers they get back together).

Everyone deserves the right to be happy and love who they want freely, without boundaries, and with the rights every straight couple has.

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” ― Dr. Seuss

“If you judge people, you have no time to love them.” ― Mother Teresa

