Tags

,

A friend of mine who’s also an author said that I like “closure” in my writing. It’s true, and I didn’t think of it as negative feedback. The core of why I write comes from my own core, what matters to me most, the way I see the world from my perspective.

And I love closure. That doesn’t mean all things wrap up neatly in the end or how a reader may expect or wants things to end. JKR succinctly said once, “I want my readers to know that I know everything there is to know about my characters, their histories, backgrounds, and experiences so there are no unanswered questions at the end.” If I’m left with a “what the bloody hell was that” feeling, that’s not closure.

In film terms, closure is the ending to “The Sixth Sense”, “500 Days of Summer”, and even “Trading Places.” The end may surprise me, leave me feeling disappointed, or with a bittersweet mood, or even a high of revenge, but I still get closure.

I don’t have to spell it all out even though it’s certainly important for me to “begin with the end in mind.” I must know my characters well, I must know them as well as I know myself. After all, they’re all a part of me. That’s closure.

