Tags

, ,

Music Review Justin TimberlakeI’m a huge fan of Justin Timberlake, ever since he was a member of *NSYNC. Anyone who took the time to really listen past the boy band image could see that he would become extremely successful because of his incredible talent.

Recently, I listened to his latest album, “The 20/20 Experience”. There are a few tunes that I really like, but I can’t say I love them. Yet. The others, however, are disappointing. The songs in that “other” group sound all the same, even some of the lyrics sound similar. Granted, he’s in a different time in his life, and having gotten married not long ago, his frame of mind might just be on love, specifically, his wife, Jessica Biel.

While I love R&B, I love what I consider to be classic R&B: Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin, Bill Withers, Etta James, and Billie Holiday, to name a few. The list is too long for a blog post. Even though Justin Timberlake is brilliant, a savant by most accounts, I am disappointed that about half the songs on his latest album are far too monotone when it comes to concept, lyrics, and vibe.

Here are my favorites from the album.

