Tags

, , , ,

I’m not quite sure why, but I have “watched” all five of the “Twilight Saga” films probably a few dozen times. “Watched” is in quotes because I have seen the films, focused on them, several times. But I’ve also had them playing in the background like white noise.

While I really do love the stories, and I do like the films, I don’t love them all. The first movie is incredibly slow. The second one, “New Moon”, has only two really great parts in terms of pacing: the beginning, up through the months of depression, and the ending, with Italy as the backdrop. The third film, “Eclipse”, is by far, still my favorite of all. And then there are aspects of the fourth and fifth films, “Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1” and “Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2” that I won’t get into here.

Image

That’s for another post entirely. I’ve wondered with great curiosity, though, why the films, especially the first, are so…soothing for me. And in that, I believe it might be the first film’s pace and music that is the most soothing of all. For the past few days, I’ve had to have it playing to go to sleep. No, it’s not that the movie puts me to sleep, although, it’s quite like a “blankie” for a baby. It’s more the quality of unearthing something, a quest to find out the unknown that is somehow appealing to me and therefore, relaxing.

If you haven’t checked out the soundtracks or the scores for these films, you really should. They are outstanding. Listen to my soundtrack playlist from the first film.

