Tags

, ,

If you’ve ever been “blue”, you’ve felt a little bit depressed. Usually it passes, and you’re able to get up and get on with the day. But there are some people who have chronic depression or the even more debilitating clinical depression.

One thing I’ve always been enamored with is how J.K. Rowling truly created characters who were a part of her or her experiences, based in some or all of her reality. The dementors were just that: the representation of her very real depression. Oh, how I relate to the dementors.

One of the greatest aspects of writing is that my heart, soul, experiences, perspectives, and perceptions go into my characters. They’re shaped as a result of some part or parts of who I was, who I am, or who I will be. Sometimes, they’re a direct result of who I thought I would be, who I need to be, or who I want to be.

I love that writing allows me to decide.

What characters have you related to the most and why?

