Tags

, ,

Growing up, I watched “old” movies with my mum, and sometimes, with both my parents. Usually, my dad watched golf tournaments while I laid up in the bed with my mum and watched all kinds of classics. That’s how I grew to love Katharine Hepburn, Gregory Peck, Rock Hudson, Doris Day, Cary Grant, and Tony Randall, just to mention a few. And that’s how I discovered Elvis. I fell in love with him just as many young girls fell in love with him when he was much younger, much thinner, and less pissed, stoned, or high from some chemical compound wrapped up in a pill. His charisma, his charm, his gorgeous looks were captured on film forever, and I am forever grateful for that. 

The day he died is one I’ll never forget. My mum and I were in the car and heard the news on the radio. I was crushed. One of my first teen crushes, on the man, the actor, the musician, and singer, disintegrated into dust that day.

I knew Elvis had grandchildren. But it wasn’t until today that I wanted to look up Ben Keough, his grandson. Ben is Lisa Marie Presley’s and Danny Keough’s son. I knew about Riley, their daughter, but I didn’t really know much about Ben. Image

I couldn’t believe my eyes. Staring back at me from my laptop screen was Elvis reincarnated. I can’t really find much else about him, although I see from pictures that he is a musician. I’m unsure how good he is.

It’s unreal and just uncanny how much he looks like his grandfather. To call Elvis a grandfather, even though he’s been gone for many, many years, is   so surreal.

Seeing Ben, though, took me back to “my days” of Elvis, how captivated I was by him. It makes me wonder what could have been. What would the world be like if Elvis hadn’t died prematurely? What would the world be like if George Harrison hadn’t succumbed to lung cancer? What would the world be like if Kurt Cobain hadn’t committed suicide? Or if Stevie Ray Vaughan hadn’t unexpectedly died in a helicopter crash? Dennis Wilson, Joey Ramone, John Lennon, Freddie Mercury, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix? They all left us way too soon.

If reincarnation is, in fact, true (no, I don’t believe in that, but I believe that nothing is impossible), then do you come back looking like your previous “being”, a completely different one, or a hybrid, where people do double-takes as with Elvis’s grandson?

I leave you with this while I ponder the same.

