Tags

Somehow, I was lucky enough to come across this column called Dear Sugar on The Rumpus web site. This particular post, #48: Write Like a Motherfucker, speaks volumes to me.

Being a writer, it struck the core of who I am, and not just author Cheryl Strayed’s response, but advice seeker Elissa Bassist’s words, too.

Over and over again, I am reminded by people, authors, signs, to keep writing, write like it’s an obsession, and when I think I can’t hold the pen anymore, keep writing.

For some reason, that brings up the 10,000 hours theory, and a quick search turned up Suw Charman-Anderson’s post “Gladwell’s 10,000 Hours: A Useless Goal for Fledgeling Writers” in which she references Jared Sandman’s blog post “10,000 Hours“.

Sandman’s mention of Ray Bradbury’s ‘million bad words’ idea resonates more strongly with me. I have definitely had a million bads words in me which may or may not have added up to 10,000 words.

The point is, write like a motherfucker, as Strayed mentioned, and who cares how many words your words total? The point is to WRITE.

