Tags

, ,

I have learned a great deal over the past few days of just how grateful I am. They say (who are “they” anyway? I’ve wondered my entire life as “they” are mentioned so often but never clearly defined) that when we really get depressed and can’t find anything in our life for which to be grateful, we should start with our senses: sight, sound, touch, smell, and taste.

Then they say we should add other human basics we take for granted: two eyes, two ears, hair, two arms, two legs, two feet, ten toes, ten fingers, etc.

I am so grateful to have both of my legs. Although one is currently injured, covered in a very unfashionable leg brace, and I’m hobbling around on lovely sticks (crutches), I’m grateful to experience this in one aspect: I know that whatever is tough right now, it would be magnified infinitely if this injury were permanent.

I used to make a daily gratitude list and found it quite helpful especially when I was frustrated, angry, or feeling depressed. Some days, I just had my five senses listed or that I was born with everything a human should be born with upon arriving into this world. Some days, my list was far longer. It helped me to remember, too, that things can always be worse off, and for some people, things are.

