Tags

Sometimes, the best way to get out of a depressive rut is through self-soothing. We do it as babies, but sometimes, as adults, we lose sight of how soothing it was.

Definition of PACIFY:

1 a : to allay the anger or agitation of : soothe : appeasepropitiate
2 a : to restore to a tranquil state : settle b : to reduce to a submissive state : subdue

Pacifying myself as an adult has been a hard thing to learn. I had to determine what things work for me. Everyone is different. As a child, I was never a thumb-sucker, but I did gently rub my thumb across my lips. (I’m sure Freud would love that.) It helped me to go to

pacifier

sleep. Recently, my mother told me that I also would put two fingers in my mouth instead of sucking my thumb. I don’t think I’ll try that, though. As an adult,

sometimes I do something similar  to the thumb-rubbing-my-lip thing in that I move my foot back and forth on the bed if I’m trying to sleep or feeling agitated while sitting in bed. If I’m sitting on the sofa or in a chair, I prop my legs up, cross one over the other, and rub my feet together.

Sometimes, in order to get out of a “grey hole” (before it leads to the pitch black), distraction as a self-soothing technique really works for me. My go-to distraction is comedy, in any form, or a movie I’ve seen so many times that it no longer affects me like it used to. It could also be a movie that enthralls me every time I see it, and there are a few like that. I get to escape, not to avoid, but to escape and thus, get out of that depressive rut.

I’m grateful for knowing that, as an adult, it’s ok to self-soothe. I think it’s more than ok. I think it’s necessary. Even in times of stress, not necessarily depressive ruts, it can be so helpful.

Cheers to a happier, and more soothing, day!

