Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve always been amazed at finding any time to write in my blog, if one can even call it a blog. That would require consistent entries of writing, and since I have to be consistent at writing other things for my main income, the blog comes last. In fact, it’s been almost a year since I last posted anything on my blog.

“This boy will be famous, a legend. I wouldn’t be surprised if today was known as Harry Potter day in future. There will be books written about Harry, every child in our world will know his name.”
~Professor Minerva McGonagall,
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

I saw an article today on “Entertainment Weekly’s” website titled “Daniel Radcliffe in Broadway’s ‘The Cripple of Inishmaan’: First look — EXCLUSIVE VIDEO”

Although I haven’t seen all of his performances, stage or screen, I have seen some. The majority are from his “Harry Potter” film performances, which I hear he refuses to watch. I completely relate to that mindset. I would love to see his stage performances but as of now, have been unfortunate to witness any. I’ve seen “The Woman in Black”, and I immersed myself into the film, forgetting all about Harry, and wizards, and Hogwarts.

Singers have vocal range. How far up and down the scale of notes can he or she sing? Actors, on the other hand, have range, too, and not just with vocals. Range in an actor means depth, understanding, embodiment of another’s life and mind entirely, whether the character was a real person or fictional. It’s physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual.

Daniel Radcliffe has the kind of range upon which other stars’ light only dares to shine as brightly.

In my lifetime, there have really only been a few actors I consider to be the actor of their respective generation. I’ve listed a few of them with their pictures at the end of this post. Of course, there are more than one in each generation, so having just ONE actor of his generation is a mere technicality. My blog, my rules.

I truly believe that Daniel Radcliffe will be among those on that list, those who have won every major actor award there is. In just a few years, he’s chosen projects so far different from the surface of his “Harry Potter” character, that the world now knows Daniel Radcliffe’s name, not just Harry Potter’s. It’s a strange parallel, but that’s where the parallels end. He’s chosen well, and I can’t wait to see his upcoming films. He’s lovely, brilliant, smart, edgy, a little on the slobbish side, all male, and I love him for all of those reasons and more. He has his own personal, dysfunctional issues, but in his heart, he’s a good man, too.

Listed below from left to right, and where someday, Daniel Radcliffe’s name and picture should be, are acting greats and legends (not all-inclusive):

Al Pacino, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Ben Kingsley, Cary Grant, Christopher Plummer, Colin Firth, Daniel Day Lewis

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Laurence Fishburne, Gene Hackman, Gregory Peck, Jack Lemmon, Jim Broadbent, Jimmy Stewart, Gene Hackman, Laurence Fishburne, Philip Seymour Hoffman

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageRobert De Niro, Sidney Poitier, Spencer Tracy, Walter Matthau

ImageImageImageImage

